NAD+ patches are adhesive skin patches marketed to deliver NAD+ or its precursors, though absorption through intact skin is unproven.
Two patches can sit on the same shelf, one listing 250 mg of nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide and the other 4.22 mg, and both sell the same promise. That gap matters, because the skin’s outer layer is built to block molecules with NAD+’s profile: large, charged, and water-soluble.
NAD+ is a coenzyme every cell uses to run metabolism and repair. A patch is a passive transdermal system: you stick it on, and the maker claims the ingredient crosses the skin into your bloodstream. Whether NAD+ patches can actually do that, and what their labels require of you, is worth pinning down before you spend anything.
What’s Actually Inside an NAD+ Patch?
NAD+ patch formulas vary so widely that the term names a category, not a recipe. Some products list NAD+ itself; others use precursors such as nicotinamide mononucleotide (NMN) or nicotinamide riboside (NR), often bundled with glutathione, CoQ10, resveratrol, or B vitamins.
The DailyMed-listed CONVERTHERA NAD Plus Patch declares 250 mg NAD+, 25 mg glutathione, and 15,000 mcg vitamin B12 per patch, built on a hydrogel matrix with a backing film. A second, multi-ingredient patch lists 4.22 mg NAD+ alongside 16.87 mg acetyl-L-carnitine arginate, 16.87 mg CoQ10, 16.87 mg MSM, 6 mg resveratrol, 2.53 mg vitamin B6, 0.84 mg vitamin B1, and 8.44 mcg biotin.
DailyMed’s professional label for the CONVERTHERA patch also carries a blunt line: the product has not been found by FDA to be safe and effective, and its labeling has not been approved by FDA.
| Label Detail | CONVERTHERA NAD Plus Patch | Multi-Ingredient NAD+ Patch |
|---|---|---|
| NAD+ per patch | 250 mg | 4.22 mg |
| Other actives per patch | 25 mg glutathione | 16.87 mg CoQ10; 16.87 mg MSM; 16.87 mg acetyl-L-carnitine arginate |
| B vitamins per patch | 15,000 mcg vitamin B12 | 2.53 mg vitamin B6; 0.84 mg vitamin B1; 8.44 mcg biotin |
| Resveratrol per patch | Not listed | 6 mg |
| Wear time | 4–6 hours | Not stated |
| Patches per week | 1–2 | Not stated |
| FDA review status | — | Not stated |
Does NAD+ Get Through Intact Skin?
Not convincingly. No published randomized controlled human trial establishes that a consumer NAD+ patch raises blood or tissue NAD+ concentrations, and no published pharmacokinetic study has measured a meaningful blood-NAD+ rise from a typical passive patch.
The chemistry explains the doubt. NAD+ is a relatively large, charged, water-soluble molecule, and healthy skin is a lipid barrier tuned to keep exactly that kind of compound out. Passive diffusion favors small, uncharged, fat-soluble drugs such as nicotine or estrogen, which is why prescription patches work for those and not for a dinucleotide.
Watch for borrowed evidence. Studies on oral NAD+ precursors, intravenous NAD+, and compounded topical formulas test different delivery routes, and none of them proves a stick-on patch delivers anything. No established clinical guideline recommends NAD+ patches for anti-aging, energy, longevity, or lingering post-COVID symptoms either.
There is an attribution problem too. Products that bundle B vitamins, CoQ10, or resveratrol next to NAD+ make it impossible to credit any effect to NAD+ specifically, which suits a category with no measured absorption data behind it.
Wearing One: Label Steps And Safety Limits
Wear time and frequency come from the specific label, and the two labeled products here are not interchangeable. Ledisa directs one patch daily, worn 8–12 hours. CONVERTHERA directs one to two patches per week, worn 4–6 hours.
Ledisa:
- Pick clean, dry, relatively hair-free skin, and keep lotions or creams away from the site.
- Peel one patch off its backing and press it into place.
- Leave it on for 8–12 hours.
- Remove and discard it, then rotate the next site; a fresh patch goes on daily.
CONVERTHERA:
- Clean a dry, hair-free area such as the upper arm, abdomen, or back.
- Add 8–10 drops of NAD+ solution to the patch.
- Press the patch on firmly.
- Leave it for 4–6 hours, then remove and discard.
- Keep to one or two patches per week unless a licensed provider says otherwise.
Skip broken, irritated, or sensitive skin entirely, and pull the patch off if a rash develops. Mild redness or tingling is possible with the CONVERTHERA product. Never reuse a patch or leave one on past its labeled window, and keep them out of reach of children. Pregnant or nursing people, anyone under 18, and people managing a medical condition should check with a physician first, as the CONVERTHERA label advises.
Costs vary as much as formulas do. Ledisa lists $39.95 for a one-month supply, with subscription pricing at $24.94 and $33.95 per month and $86.85 for a three-month order. DailyMed publishes no retail price for CONVERTHERA.
Treat a patch as a low-stakes test of skin tolerance and a poorly supported one for raising NAD+. If you want to try one anyway, start with a seller that publishes per-patch amounts and wear time — a tested comparison of NAD+ patch options puts the labels side by side. Then follow that product’s own schedule rather than a routine borrowed from a different brand.
Common Questions
Do NAD+ patches actually raise NAD+ levels?
No published randomized controlled trial or pharmacokinetic study has shown that a passive consumer patch raises blood or tissue NAD+ in humans. NAD+ is large and charged, and healthy skin resists it, so sellers lean on mechanism claims instead of measured results. Oral precursors and intravenous NAD+ are separate delivery methods with their own evidence base.
How long should an NAD+ patch stay on?
Wear time comes from the label on your specific product. Ledisa directs 8–12 hours per patch, worn daily, while CONVERTHERA directs 4–6 hours, one to two times per week. Leaving a patch on longer than its label allows raises irritation risk without evidence of better absorption.
Who should skip NAD+ patches?
Anyone with broken, irritated, or sensitive skin at the application site should skip them, and a rash, itching, or burning means removing the patch. The CONVERTHERA label advises pregnant or nursing people, children under 18, and people with medical conditions to consult a physician first. Adhesive allergies are another reason to stop.
Sources
- DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine). “CONVERTHERA NAD PLUS PATCH — Professional Labeling” Supplies the declared per-patch amounts, the 4–6 hour wear time, the one-to-two-per-week schedule, and the FDA labeling disclaimer quoted above.