Smartwatch Battery Life Explained: What to Expect From Budget Watches Under $150 | The 29-Day Myth

Most sub-$150 smartwatches run several days to about two weeks per charge, but advertised maximums only happen with features switched off.

A watch spec sheet that says 26 days is describing battery-saver mode, not the watch you’ll actually wear. Real everyday runtime with notifications, heart-rate tracking, and GPS drops well below the marketing number — and understanding that gap is what stops you from buying the wrong watch.

Why Advertised Battery Numbers Never Match Real Life

Battery claims aren’t standardized across brands, so a “14-day” figure from one maker can mean something completely different from another. Amazfit’s own FAQ states that battery life ranges from several days to several weeks depending on model and usage. That word — usage — does the heavy lifting.

Every feature you leave on draws power. Always-on display, high brightness, frequent notifications, Bluetooth calling, continuous heart-rate or blood-oxygen monitoring, music playback, Wi-Fi, and GPS workouts all pull the runtime down. Customer reports on Amazfit Balance watches describe roughly 7–10 days in practice against a 14-day claim — a realistic haircut of about 30%.

Battery-saver modes extend runtime by shutting features off. The Bip 5 Unity listing spells this out: 11 days in typical use versus 26 days in battery-saver mode. Those are two different watches in practice, even though they share one product page.

What Budget Watches Actually Deliver

The watches in this price bracket split into two clear camps — long-endurance models and feature-dense ones that trade days for sensors.

Model Advertised Runtime Battery Capacity
Amazfit Bip 6 14 days 340 mAh
Amazfit Bip 5 Unity 11 days typical / 26 days saver 264 mAh
Amazfit Active 2 Premium 10 days 270 mAh
Amazfit Balance 14 days (7–10 reported) 475 mAh
CMF Watch 3 Pro Not officially published Not disclosed
CMF Watch Pro 2 Not officially published Not disclosed

Note what capacity does and doesn’t tell you. The Balance has the biggest battery here at 475 mAh yet reports the same real-world range as the 340 mAh Bip 6, because its larger AMOLED screen and richer sensor set eat the advantage. Never infer runtime from mAh alone.

Treat any runtime claim on those as unconfirmed until the manufacturer publishes one. If you want to compare these against other tested options, our roundup of the best smartwatches under $150 breaks down what each one does well.

What Quietly Kills Your Runtime

Most battery complaints trace back to a handful of settings left on by default. Samsung’s official charging guidance — general manufacturer advice rather than model-specific — also notes that approved chargers and docks reduce the risk of damage, and that you should charge before first use or after long storage.

  • Always-on display — the single biggest drain on an AMOLED watch; turn it off and gain days.
  • GPS workouts — continuous satellite tracking empties a small battery fast; use it per session, not all day.
  • Continuous SpO₂ or heart-rate monitoring — useful data, but it samples around the clock.
  • High brightness — set it to auto rather than max.
  • Bluetooth calling — fine in short bursts; it maintains a live connection to your phone.

One clarification worth stating plainly: Bluetooth calling is not cellular service. The watch borrows your phone’s connection over Bluetooth, so it stops working once you’re out of range. No budget watch here offers independent cellular.

Compatibility is the other quiet limiter. Amazfit and CMF listings state Android and iOS support, but individual features — Alexa, ECG, payments, emergency functions — can be restricted by country, phone version, app permissions, or regulatory approval. Check the manufacturer’s support page for your exact model before assuming a feature works in the US.

Charging and Safety Rules Worth Following

Lithium-polymer cells power at least the Bip 5 Unity and Balance, and how you charge them matters for longevity. Place the watch’s back centered on the compatible wireless charger, use the manufacturer-approved charger and cable, and keep the charging contacts dry and clean.

Stop using a watch or charger that becomes unusually hot, swells, leaks, or shows damage. Water resistance is not permanent, and it never makes a device safe to charge while wet. Health readings from any of these watches are not medical advice — confirm the manufacturer’s intended use before relying on them.

Common Questions

Do budget smartwatches really last two weeks on a charge?

Only under specific conditions. The 14-day and 26-day figures come from controlled test scenarios with features reduced or disabled. With always-on display, GPS sessions, and continuous heart-rate tracking active, expect closer to a week — and some users report 7–10 days on watches rated for 14.

Does a bigger battery always mean longer life?

No. The Amazfit Balance carries a 475 mAh cell but reports the same real-world runtime as the 340 mAh Bip 6, because its larger AMOLED display and fuller sensor load consume more power. Screen type, processor, and enabled features matter as much as capacity.

Can I use these watches with an iPhone?

The Amazfit and CMF listings specify both Android and iOS compatibility, but some features depend on the companion app, phone version, and permissions. Certain functions like payments or ECG may be unavailable on iOS or restricted by region, so verify your specific model on the manufacturer’s support page.

Sources